Dreaming about a vegan chocolate bunny, gelatin-free jelly beans, or a vegan Easter basket? There are so many vegan Easter candy options waiting to satisfy your sweet tooth! Learn how to make your own vegan Easter basket, or order a pre-made basket.
Vegan Easter Candy Guide
🌿Save this recipe / Read it later
Is candy vegan?
Candy can be vegan, but it depends on the type and the ingredients. Some common non-vegan ingredients in candies like gummies, chewy candy, and fruit candy are gelatin, beeswax, and coatings like confectioner’s glaze and shellac. Chocolate can be vegan, but look for dairy-free chocolate like dark chocolate, vegan “milk” chocolate, or vegan white chocolate made with plant milk.
(If you are in the mood for DIY, get inspired from these amazing vegan Easter recipes.)
Where to buy Vegan Easter Candy?
At Whole Foods
Whole Foods has a wonderful gourmet chocolate section with many vegan options. Choose one of these treats, or see what you can find at your local store. Availability and stock may change depending on the store.
These bite-sized vegan Easter eggs are made with 70% dark chocolate wrapped in gold foil. Like all of Divine’s products, they are fair trade, non-GMO, and made with all natural ingredients. Use them for your vegan Easter egg hunt!
Looking for a vegan chocolate bunny? Whole Foods has you covered! This 72% dark chocolate bunny is made with fair trade cocoa. Add it to an Easter basket or enjoy it for yourself!
You can find Go Max Go Foods vegan chocolate bars at some Whole Foods locations, including their Cleo’s Peanut Butter Cups, which are perfect for Easter. If you’re lucky, your store may have both dark chocolate and white chocolate options. All of Go Max Go Foods’ products contain no artificial ingredients, GMOs, corn syrup, or hydrogenated oil.
Unreal makes vegan chocolate “M&Ms”, crispy chocolate bars, and more! These colorful Dark Chocolate Quinoa Crisp Gems are like vegan crispy M&Ms coated in vegetable-based food dye. They’re non-GMO and fair trade. If you cannot find them at Whole Foods, Target also carries Unreal products.
Target has really stepped up their game in recent years offering a mix of gourmet vegan chocolates and childhood favorite candy that happens to be vegan.
Sour Patch Kids makes vegan bunny-shaped candies for Easter! Just like regular Sour Patch kids, they are tangy, delicious, gluten free, and 100% vegan.
YumEarth Giggles are a chewy fruit candy similar to Skittles (which also happen to be vegan), but these ones are non-GMO, organic, and contain no artificial flavors or colors.
Endangered Species makes all kinds of non-GMO and fair trade gourmet chocolate bars and a portion of the proceeds go to conservation efforts for endangered species, which are pictured on the labels of their chocolates. The oat milk in this sea salt and almond dark chocolate bar mellows the intense flavor of the chocolate.
These chewy fruit candies are organic, gluten free, and made with no artificial colors. They are just like a vegan version of Starburst, which contain non-vegan gelatin. These candies come in individually-wrapped “egg-sized” pouches for your Easter egg hunt.
Partake makes a line of vegan-friendly crunchy cookies that you can feel good about eating because all of their products are vegan, gluten free, top 9 allergen free, and made with wholesome ingredients. These Spring Sprinkles Mini Cookies are perfect for Easter.
Looking to add something savory to the mix this Easter? These egg-shaped veggie chips are crunchy, colorful, and lightly salted. They come in individually-wrapped pouches.
Missing Mounds bars as a vegan? Unreal has made a perfect dupe (but with 51% less sugar!) and it’s available at Target.
At Trader Joe’s
Trader Joe’s seasonal items are popular every year, and their Easter and springtime selection is no exception! They regularly come out with new items, so you might be surprised by the vegan treats you can find.
Trader Joe’s fruit jellies are made with real fruit extracts, no artificial flavors or colors, and pectin instead of gelatin. Trader Joe’s makes seasonal gummies and jellies throughout the year and most of them are vegan!
If you have a peanut allergy or not a fan of peanut butter, but would still like to indulge in peanut butter cups, these sunflower seed butter cups from Trader Joe’s fit the bill! They come in perfectly-portioned packets of two.
Some Trader Joe’s locations have grocery store bakery-style vegan cupcakes available seasonally. These vegan cupcakes are vanilla cake with vanilla buttercream frosting topped with pastel sprinkles that will fit in perfectly on your Easter dessert table.
Vegan “milk” chocolate made with oat, almond, or coconut milk is relatively new to the mainstream market, and Trader Joe’s delivers on these oat chocolate bars. This bar is made with 40% cocoa and creamy oat milk for a lovely mellow flavor.
At Walmart/ Walgreens/CVS
Walmart and drugstores have all sorts of vegan Easter candy options that happen to be vegan, or are “accidentally vegan”. Many seasonal items are not listed online so you may have to go check out your local store in person, like a vegan Easter egg hunt!
These seasonal SweeTARTS taste just like the original candy, but come in cute chick, duck, and bunny shapes! They are gluten free, sweet, and tangy, just like regular SweeTARTS.
This vegan chocolate bunny from vegan company Sjaak’s is filled with creamy almond butter encased in vegan milk chocolate. It’s fair trade, organic, and made with non-GMO ingredients.
Stock may vary in stores, but you can find them on the Walmart website.
The Lindt dark chocolate bunny is wrapped in gold foil and makes a perfect addition to a vegan Easter basket! This bunny may be the original vegan chocolate bunny, as it has been available every spring for many years.
Find it at Walmart, drugstores like Walgreens and CVS, and other retailers.
Vegan Treats, a whimsical bakery in Pennsylvania that makes all kinds of over-the-top vegan cakes and pastries, makes decadent gourmet chocolates for every holiday! Choose from “Better”finger Bars, “Veganbury” Eggs, Jumbo Peanut Butter Dream Rabbits, a chocolate almond butter toffee crunch Bunny Bar, rice milk chocolate speculoos eggs, Swiss chocolate cookie dough cups, or get them all
Prefer milk chocolate over dark? This oat milk bunny from Lake Champlain is just like a classic milk chocolate bunny, but with no dairy!
Enjoy three adorable chocolate bunny lollipops in this collection from No Whey! Foods. You’ll get a vegan “milk” chocolate bunny, white chocolate bunny, and an adorable egg-shaped milkless chocolate pop with a white chocolate bunny decoration.
Sjaak’s makes all sorts of vegan Easter chocolates every year. These organic peanut butter eggs are filled with chunky peanut butter and made with fair trade, organic chocolate.
This adorable dark chocolate carrot is the perfect accompaniment to your chocolate bunnies and eggs. The carrot is made with solid dark chocolate wrapped in colorful foil.
This dark chocolate Easter egg made with fair trade chocolate is wrapped in elegant gold foil and packaged in a nice little box.
These vegan jelly beans are made with organic fruit juice and 95% organic ingredients. They’re made in a facility free of the Top 8 food allergies so they’re a safe option for a vegan with allergies.
Find them on the manufacturer’s website or check your local supermarket.
No Whey! Foods has a few different chocolate bunnies available each spring, and Jake the Milkless Easter bunny is a fine choice! Made with solid milkless vegan chocolate, he’s sure to please on Easter morning.
Mix up your Easter activities with this cookie decorating kit. Each kit comes with 3 egg-shaped shortbread cookies coated in white chocolate, and yellow, green, and blue icing for decorating.
10. Vegan Peeps
Peeps usually contain gelatin, so they are not vegan, so if you’re missing Peeps, be sure to try these handmade Vegan Bunny Marshmallows from MermaidsMunchies on Etsy! Each order comes with 4 marshmallows in the color of your choice.
Everyone will LOVE these sweet hand-painted vanilla sea salt Vegan Chick Macarons! They are handmade with aquafaba meringue and come in packs of 4 or 12.
Vegan Easter Baskets
If you can’t decide which Vegan Treats Easter chocolates to order, try the Lucky Bunny Chocolate Collection. The 10 piece collection comes with 2 flavors of Bunny Bars, a jumbo white chocolate rainbow bunny, 2 Veganbury cream eggs, rice milk chocolate speculoos eggs, “Better”fingers twin pack, rice milk chocolate mini rabbit, and chocolate crunchy coconut caramel Samoa cups. Gift it as is, or arrange the chocolates in a homemade Easter basket.
If you prefer savory to sweet, you’ll love the Bunny James Vegan Easter Bundle which is filled with a mix of chips, snack bars, and more. You can even add a custom gift message at checkout printed on biodegradable paper filled with flower seeds!
Enjoy a mix of vegan chocolate, candy, and handmade baked goods in this gift set from Etsy. Each order comes with a customized name plate made of Scrabble tiles.
Watching your diet doesn’t have to mean skipping Easter treats! This vegan Easter basket is filled with 5 healthy snacks that are vegan, raw, paleo, and gluten free.
Which Easter candies are vegan?
Many different types of Easter candies can be vegan from chocolate bunnies to jelly beans! Refer to the lists above if you’re shopping at a specific store, or see what you can find at your local grocery stores by looking for “vegan” labels on the package or reading the ingredients.
Look out for dark chocolate, which is more likely to be vegan, and avoid ingredients commonly found in candy like gelatin, egg white, and confectioner’s glaze.
Does Whole Foods have vegan Easter candy?
Yes, Whole Foods has many vegan Easter candy options from vegan chocolate bunnies and eggs to fruit gummies.
Are Sour Patch Bunnies vegan?
Is Lindt dark bunny vegan?
Yes, the Lindt dark chocolate bunny is vegan! This vegan chocolate bunny has been available for many years at grocery stores, drugstores like Walgreens and CVS, and even Target! It’s a great accessible option for last-minute shoppers.
Are Jelly Bellys vegan?
Unfortunately, Jelly Bellys are not vegan because they contain beeswax and confectioner’s glaze, which is derived from insects.
Jelly Belly does have a vegan product though. They recently launched a vegan gummy candy called Jelly Belly Gummies. They also come in a sour version if you prefer.
Are Peeps jelly beans vegan?
No, the Peeps jelly beans are not vegan either as they contain confectioner’s glaze.
Luckily there are some vegan jelly beans you can buy at the drugstore and online. Some store brand jelly beans might be vegan—just read the ingredients to check for beeswax, confectioner’s glaze, or egg whites.
The Jolly Rancher Jelly Beans are totally vegan and you can find them at Target, Walgreens, and your local supermarket. YumEarth Jelly Beans are available at Target and many grocery stores. Surf Sweets Jelly Beans are available at Walmart, online, and some local grocery stores.
Are Cadbury Mini Eggs vegan?
No, Cadbury Mini Eggs are made with milk chocolate and therefore not vegan.
Vegans don’t have to miss out on Easter eggs though. Try the Divine Dark Chocolate Mini Eggs, Sjaak’s Chunky Peanut Butter Filled Dark Chocolate Eggs, Vegan Treats eggs, or make your own with one of the recipes below.
This white chocolate bark has colorful pastel swirls made from freeze dried fruit and bunny-shaped vegan sprinkles! Serve on your Easter dessert table or wrap in cellophane treat bags for gifting.
These wholesome homemade fruit gummies are made with fresh fruit with no added sugar. They keep for up to 1 week.
Want to make sure your gluten free friends can indulge in dessert this year? These Gluten-Free Carrot Cake Sugar Cookies are made with carrot puree and spices, and are simply adorable decorated with white chocolate.
Who says vegans can’t eat Easter eggs? These indulgent Vegan Peanut Butter Eggs have a peanut butter cream cheese filling and delectable chocolate coating. Bet you can’t eat just one!
Sugar cookies are a classic for any holiday, including Easter! These Easter Bunny Sugar Cookies are cute and delicious, and decorating them would be a fun activity for kids.
Missing Cadbury Creme Eggs? These Vegan Creme Eggs are super sweet and a dupe for the real thing. They’re the perfect size to fit in Easter eggs.
It’s springtime! The sun is shining and the birds are chirping. These gluten-free Bird Nest Cookies are made with crunchy chow mein noodles and filled with vegan chocolate candy eggs.
Make your own healthy vegan M&Ms! You can use your sweetener and nut butter of choice.
Chocolate Easter eggs are popular, but have you heard of jelly Easter eggs? These Vegan Kantan Easter Eggs are made with the gelatin alternative kantan jelly, and full of fruity flavor.
You can never have too many vegan Easter eggs! The filling in this version tastes like chocolate chip cookie dough, and they’re coated in dark chocolate. As a bonus, they’re gluten free!
Missing your favorite vegan candy? These Healthy Vegan Peanut Butter Cups will satisfy your craving, and make wonderful additions to an Easter basket.
Vegan crisp rice treats without marshmallows, and full of chocolate and peanut butter? Absolute perfection! These Vegan Chocolate and Peanut Butter Crispy Cakes will be a favorite for kids and adults alike.
13. Bunny Lollipops
Aren’t these bunny lollipops creative and adorable? They’re made with colorful crisp rice treats and adorned with chocolate decorations.
If you’re missing Mounds bars as a vegan, you’re in luck! You can make your own version of this candy bar with just a few ingredients. They’re gluten free, paleo, and full of coconut flavor too.
15. Candied Grapes
Add a little extra sweetness to your fruit with this candied grapes recipe! You can use your favorite kind of seedless grape.
More vegan guides:
- vegan candy list
- vegan chocolate list
- a guide for vegan Starbucks options
- a guide for vegan McDonald’s options
- vegan leather guide
What is your favorite vegan Easter candy?
Let me know in the comments below!